UAlbany's Fields Named Tewaaraton Finalist

May 11, 2017 10:51 PM

WASHINGTON – UAlbany’s Connor Fields has been chosen as a 2017 Tewaaraton Trophy finalist, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced on Thursday afternoon.

Fields is one of five male collegiate players across all divisions to be chosen as a 2017 Tewaaraton Trophy finalist.  It is the fourth year in the last five seasons that UAlbany has had a Tewaaraton finalist.

Advertisement – Content Continues Below

Fields has been invited to the Tewaaraton Trophy ceremony in Washington D.C. at the National Museum of the American Indian at the Smithsonian on June 1st.  This will be the 17th annual Tewaaraton Award ceremony, where the male and female trophy recipients will be announced.

Fields is the fourth UAlbany player to be selected as a Tewaaraton Trophy finalist.  Lyle Thompson was a three-time finalist from 2013-15, Miles Thompson was in 2014 and Frank Resetarits was the first UAlbany player to be a finalist in 2007.

Lyle and Miles Thompson shared the 2014 Tewaaraton Trophy, with Lyle Thompson winning it outright in 2015.  Lyle Thompson was the first-ever back-to-back men’s Tewaaraton Trophy recipient.

Fields is currently the NCAA leader in points per game, averaging 6.75 a contest, with 108 total off 51 goals and 57 assists.  His 108 points is 25 more than any other player in Division I.  The America East Offensive Player of the Year has earned at least three points in every game this season, helping UAlbany to a 14-2 record, the best regular season record in Division I in 2017.

The other four men’s finalists are Trevor Baptiste of Denver, Matt Rambo of Maryland, Yale’s Ben Reeves and Loyola’s Pat Spencer.


UAlbany Athletics & WNYT Sports

Copyright 2017 - WNYT-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Delgado hopes to bring change to Washington

Laughter, tears as former first lady Barbara Bush remembered

Capital Region enjoys spring-like weather

Riverfront Park dedicated late Troy official

Trump says he doesn't think personal lawyer will 'flip'