Hochul announces 11 new Climate Smart communities

Gov. Kathy Hochul was in Glens Falls on Saturday to announce 11 newly certified Climate Smart communities. Three of them are in the Capital Region.

Albany County, Glens Falls, and Queensbury join others to make up 345 Climate Smart communities across New York State. The communities represent 9.4 million New Yorkers.

The program supports local efforts to meet economic, social, and environmental challenges created by climate change. Communities can get certified by taking meaningful steps to mitigate the effects of climate change.

The governor made the announcement as part of Climate Week 2021. She hopes the new communities will support the state in its ambitious goal of reducing greenhouse gas emissions by 85 percent by 2050.