Gov. Cuomo adds 5 states to New York's travel advisory list; positivity rate remains <1%

WNYT Staff
Updated: September 22, 2020 12:44 PM
Created: September 22, 2020 10:40 AM

Travelers coming to New York from Arizona, Minnesota, Nevada, Rhode Island, and Wyoming will now need to quarantine for 14 days.

Gov. Cuomo added the five states to New York’s travel advisory list Tuesday. The governor did not remove any areas for the list.


The updated travel advisory now includes the following states:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

Gov. Cuomo also announced that New York has conducted 10 million COVID-19 diagnostic tests. The state conducted nearly 84,000 tests on Monday. Of that number, 0.89% came back positive.

In the Capital Region, the positivity rate dropped from 1.0% on Sunday to 0.5% on Monday.

In the Mohawk Valley, the positivity rate stayed flat from Sunday to Monday at 0.2%

Unfortunately, another three people died.

Copyright 2020 - WNYT-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook
Trump, Biden go after each other on coronavirus, taxes

FDA approves first COVID-19 drug: antiviral remdesivir

Cuomo: NY state infection rate is 1.2%

Man arrested in connection with Troy homicide investigation

GOP-led Senate panel advances Barrett as Democrats boycott