Mohawk Valley, North Country enter Phase 4 of re-opening

Mohawk Valley, North Country enter Phase 4 of re-opening

Emily De Vito & WNYT Staff
Updated: June 26, 2020 02:02 PM
Created: June 26, 2020 05:07 AM

Five New York regions, including the Mohawk Valley and North Country, are entering Phase 4 of the state's re-opening plan on Friday. That includes Montgomery, Schoharie, Fulton, and Hamilton counties.

However, as NewsChannel 13 has been reporting, Gov. Cuomo pulled malls, movie theaters, and gyms from Phase 4. He says they're continuing to study those businesses because new information on this virus continues to come in, and he doesn't want to risk a second wave.

So what is opening up? Low-risk outdoor arts and low-risk indoor arts, entertainment, as well as museums. They are required to limit visitors and workers to 33 percent capacity. Some examples of this are outdoor zoos, historical sites, and aquariums.

Film and movie production is also able to begin in those five regions. They have to limit capacity indoors to 50 percent, and people involved must wear masks and practice social distancing.

The state also issued guidelines for colleges and universities to open up. They also must social distance and require masks, but most colleges had already created or are working on a re-opening plan with many of these guidelines.

The governor announced that in Phase 4 of reopening, social gatherings of up to 50 people will be allowed and indoor religious gatherings will be allowed at up to 33 percent of the indoor site's capacity.

The governor had also mentioned professional sports can begin.

If all goes well, the Capital Region can begin Phase 4 on July 1.

Copyright 2020 - WNYT-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook