State of emergency declared in several counties

Chris Rooney
Updated: December 02, 2019 04:33 PM
Created: December 02, 2019 11:39 AM

At least two counties have declared a state of emergency due to the storm that's delivering well over a foot of snow to the Capital Region. Schenectady and Schoharie counties are asking people to stay off the roads.

Schenectady County says traffic is restricted until 5 a.m. Tuesday.

Schoharie County is asking for no unnecessary travel until 6 a.m. Tuesday.

This is in addition to Gov. Cuomo declaring a state of emergency in seven counties -- Albany, Columbia, Greene, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, and Ulster. The governor says the National Guard is being deployed to these counties to help with snow removal.

There were hundreds of school closings on Monday morning.

Numerous cities and towns have declared a snow emergency, restricting parking on public streets until snow can be plowed away.

The snow began Sunday afternoon, dropping as much as 15 inches in some places. Some areas could get another eight inches before the storm winds down early Tuesday.

Copyright 2019 - WNYT-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook