FEMA approves NY disaster declaration after Halloween storm

WNYT Staff
Created: December 20, 2019 07:54 PM

Eighteen New York state counties are one step closer to getting federal funding to help recover from severe storms and flash flooding on Halloween and the day after.

Governor Cuomo announced Friday that FEMA has approved a major disaster declaration for the 18 counties, including Fulton, Montgomery, Saratoga, and Warren.


FEMA validated more than $33 million in funding.

The money can be used to reimburse costs for things like debris removal and repairing structures damaged by the floods.

Copyright 2019 - WNYT-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook
State of Emergency declared in Menands, Watervliet, Green Island

Prosecutor: 2 Buffalo police charged with assault in shoving

NYS houses of worship allowed to open at 25 percent capacity in Phase 2 regions

Troy shooting now homicide investigation; stabbing victim recovering

The Latest: Sharpton: DC rally being planned for Aug. 28