Gov. Cuomo adds 3 new states to COVID-19 travel advisory list

WNYT Staff
Updated: July 07, 2020 06:06 PM
Created: July 07, 2020 11:03 AM

Gov. Cuomo has added three new states to New York's travel advisory list Tuesday. People who are traveling to New York from Delaware, Kansas, and Oklahoma will need to quarantine for 14 days.

The quarantine now applies to travelers coming from 19 different states.


The full list includes:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi 
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

"As states around the country experience increasing community spread, New York is taking action to ensure the continued safety of our phased reopening. Our entire response to this pandemic has been by the numbers, and we've set metrics for community spread just as we set metrics for everything," Cuomo said.

On Monday, the state tested 56,736 people for the coronavirus, and 1.04 percent were positive.

In the Capital Region, 1.20 percent of people tested positive on Monday, that's up from 1 percent on Sunday.

In the Mohawk Valley, 1.10 percent of people tested positive on Monday. That's flat from Sunday.

The total number of cases in New York now stands at 398,237.

Copyright 2020 - WNYT-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook
Thousands without power in the Capital Region following storm

Tropical Storm Isaias drenches Capital Region

Senate Education Committee to host virtual discussion on reopening schools

Albany County: Young demographic has the highest infection rate

Tropic storm Isaias whips up eastern US, killing at least 6