Thousands of adoptees apply for original birth certificates under new NY law

WNYT Staff
Created: January 17, 2020 05:33 PM

Adoptees across New York continue to take advantage of a new law which allows them to get their hands on their original birth certificates.

The state says 3,600 New Yorkers filed within the first 48 hours.


You have to be 18 to take advantage of the new law.

The Health Department is accepting requests from adoptees born in New York - outside of New York City - which has its own process.

The fee is $45.

NewsChannel 13 went with Susan Moyer and her brother to the Department of Health on Friday. Her half-brother, Rick, was also adopted.

NewsChannel 13 first introduced you to Susan last March, when she was one of the people fighting for the new law.

Hear her reaction to it, by watching the video of the story.

Copyright 2020 - WNYT-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook
North Adams police investigating shooting

Nurse recovering from COVID-19 leaves hospital after 104 days

Rensselaer Co. lawmakers defeat resolution to recognize Black Lives Matter movement

Doctors learn about impact of COVID-19 on the brain

First COVID-19 vaccine tested in US poised for final testing