Hochul issues state of emergency for downstate counties

[anvplayer video=”5086166″ station=”998132″]

New York City and Long Island are likely to be hit hard by the upcoming snowstorm. Gov. Hochul has declared a state of emergency in a number of downstate counties: Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Putnam, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester.

The governor said she’s concerned about the wind and just how quickly the snow is forecasted to be coming down.

She said there are resources prepped and ready to help those hit hardest with snow, but also has resources ready statewide – like snowplows and loaders.

The Department of Public Service has more than 5,500 workers ready to assess any damage, and help restore power if necessary.

Extra troopers are also deployed to our south, and more are on standby.

The governor said to please avoid driving to the city this weekend to avoid hazardous travel.

You can check the latest First Warning Forecast for the Capital Region, here.