Parts of Capital Region included in Henri emergency declaration

[anvplayer video=”5051693″ station=”998132″]

Parts of New York are already under a state of emergency in anticipation of Hurricane Henri — including parts of the Capital Region.

Gov. Cuomo issued the emergency declaration Saturday afternoon.

In the Capital Region, these counties are under a state of emergency:

  • Albany
  • Columbia
  • Greene
  • Montgomery
  • Rensselaer
  • Saratoga
  • Schenectady
  • Schoharie

Other parts of the state that are affected include Chenango, Delaware, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Otsego, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, Sullivan, and Westchester counties as well as New York City.

The governor is urging people to take the warnings seriously. He says the state is positioning equipment, 500 National Guard troops, and 1,000 state police troopers throughout Long Island, the Hudson Valley, and the Capital District.